SLLS John Bynner Distinguished Scholar Award


Nominations are invited for the 2022 SLLS John Bynner Distinguished Scholar Award
This annual award honours a scholar who has made a significant contribution in advancing the longitudinal study and scientific understanding of the life course.

The purpose of this award is to recognize eminent and emerging scholars in our field, whose contributions in research, theory, or policy analysis have elucidated the macro-­ and micro-­level foundations of the life course and individual biography.

Past winners include Heather Joshi (2021), Jeylan Mortimer (2020), Karl Ulrich-Mayer (2019), Diana Kuh (2018), Glen H. Elder (2017), and John Bynner (2016).

The successful awardee will be announced at the 2022 SLLS AGM, taking place in October. They will be invited to present an address at the 2023 SLLS conference and to publish the award address in the Society’s journal, Longitudinal and Life Course Studies.

Nominations should describe the nominee’s contributions to the study of the life course that warrant consideration.

Deadline for nominations: 30th June 2022

LIVES Award for Best Paper by a Young Scholar


In order to stimulate advances in the areas of vulnerability and life course studies, the Swiss Centre of Expertise in Life Course Research LIVES encourages scholars at the beginning of their career to apply to the LIVES Best Paper Award for Early Scholars.

The winner will be invited to present the paper at the SLLS Conference, taking place in Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, USA (23-25 October 2022).

Participation Criteria

The paper must be empirical (qualitative, quantitative, or mixed-method) and make an important contribution to the domain of vulnerability and life course research. The study would preferably be longitudinal and/or interdisciplinary.

The paper must have been published (including online first) in an internationally renowned peer-reviewed journal during the year 2021 only.

To be eligible for the award, the author must be the main contributor of the paper as well as have received his or her PhD in 2015 or later (graduation date).

Application Deadline

Early career scholars shall apply to this award by submitting the published version of the paper in PDF and a short paragraph (100 words max) explaining why the submitted paper deserves to win.

Deadline for applications: 31st May 2022


SLLS Harvey Goldstein Memorial Award

Details coming soon

Harvey Goldstein Memorial Lecture
Multilevel Modelling of Longitudinal Data
Presenter: George Leckie, University of Bristol, UK
October 2020


The Society for Longitudinal and Lifecourse Studies is a Registered Charity in England and Wales, No. 1144426.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse